Bayelsa Deputy Governor hails Medical Lab. Scientists for their role


Bayelsa Deputy Governor has hailed Medical Laboratory Scientists for the important role they play in ensuring a better health service delivery system.

Senator Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo was speaking when the newly elected Executive Officers of the Association of Medical Laboratory Scientists of Nigeria (AMLSN) Bayelsa State paid him a courtesy visit in his office at Bayelsa State Government House.

According to him, medicine without diagnosis is akin to working with eyes closed as what Physicians do is prognosis while the Medical Laboratory Scientists carry out the diagnosis.

He described the Medical Laboratory Science profession as the ‘skin to the man’ stressing that the skin can not be separated from the man.

The Bayelsa Deputy Governor congratulated the new Executive Officers of the Branch even as he praised Medical Laboratory Scientists in the State for ensuring that the election process was seamless and smooth.

He promised to look into the requests of the Association and assured the Government’s continued support to the Association and all its programs.

Speaking earlier, the Chairman of the Association, MLS. Seleipre Hannah Richard took time to eulogize and applaud the Deputy Governor for his unalloyed support to the branch even as she promised to foster a better working relationship between the Association with the Deputy Governor.

Issues that form the basis for the discussion were the employment of more Medical Laboratory Scientist into the State Civil Service to fill the existing deficit, inclusion of medical laboratory scientists into Ministry Organized medical programs/outreaches, implementation of the Enhanced Entry Point for existing officers, fast-tracking of the edict establishing the Bayelsa State Hospitals’ Management Board amendment to include Department of Medical Laboratory Services.

The Highlight of the visit was a photo session with the Bayelsa Deputy Governor and the AMLSN Delegation.

Among the Chairman entourage was a Member AMLSN Board of Trustees and Director, Department of Medical Laboratory Service Federal Medical Centre MLS. Solomon Ederi; Director, Department of Medical Laboratory service, Hospital Management Board MLS. Ebiye Osakwe; Vice-Chairman Dr. Igri Ofor, Secretary MLS. Loveday Zebedee, Assistant Secretary MLS. Eunice Lelei, Treasurer MLS. Tonbra Alabrah, Financial Secretary MLS. Mercy Daw, Publicity Secretary MLS. Isaac Owili-Mensah, Welfare Officer MLS. Martha Ukpong, Auditor MLS. Onitsha Enebrayi; MLS. Joy Awortu Ojo.

Bottom ads