MLSCN  6-man Education Adhoc Committee (See members)


Medical Laboratory Science Council of Nigeria (MLSCN) management has constituted a 6-man ad hoc Committee on Education.


The Committee was inaugurated recently, in Abuja by the Registrar and Chief Executive Officer of the Medical Laboratory Science Council of Nigeria (MLSCN), Dr. Tosan Erhabor.


According to him, the Committee composed of eminent Medical Laboratory Scientists and academics drawn from various universities across the country is to fill the gap created by the dissolution of the 6th Governing Board of MLSCN stressing that this was sequel to the approval of the Federal Ministry of Health.

 “You have all been carefully selected to help us strengthen our processes, based on your wealth of experience and previous contributions to the growth of the Medical Laboratory Science profession. You may also have noticed the geographical spread as well as gender balance in the membership of the committee which, we hope, would give all stakeholders a sense of belonging. Therefore, I urge you to draw on your wealth of experience to proffer solutions to the myriad of issues already waiting for your attention,” he said.

Furthermore, he noted:

“This ad hoc committee would be looking at issues of examination, the release of results, accreditation visits, resource verification, and re-accreditation of training institutions. They would also be looking at those facilities that also want to train intern Medical Laboratory Scientists.”

Responding, the Committee chairman, Prof Francis Useh from the University of Calabar, expressed appreciation to the MLSCN Management for the confidence reposed in the members of the committee, assuring that they would not disappoint the Council.

He, however, encouraged the MLSCN to continue to reinforce its regulatory capacity in view of the huge responsibility on its shoulders, considering the number of universities either offering or seeking to offer the Medical Laboratory Science program. 

Other members of the Committee include: 

  • Prof. Eugene Ikeh from the University of Jos; 
  • Prof G.N Ghali – the University of Maiduguri;
  •  Dr. Shola Olalekan  – the University of Lagos; 
  • Alhaji Abubakar Abdullahi from Jigawa;
  • Prof E. Osime, University of Benin

Congratulations to them all.




Bottom ads